You. Are. Valuable.

It amazes me at how insecure so many girls are…about their looks, especially. But hey, I don’t have any room to talk. I’ve been there. I’m still there. But I know that my view of myself can change, just as it can for you, too.

 “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” 

First of all, you are beautiful. I am beautiful. I know that, because God knows that. He made you, He made me, in His image. You can’t get more beautiful than that! So, look pretty. Put together some really cute outfits that look great. I think what you wear on the outside helps give you a certain confidence about yourself. But that’s not the only thing, the main thing, that you should be thinking about. In 1 Peter, God says that your beauty comes from your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit. It is so much more of a compliment to be beautiful on the inside, than on the outside, because the beautiful outward appearance won’t last forever. I love the last part of that verse, too. It says that the inner self, is of great worth in God’s sight. Great worth? Yes, that means valuable. 

Why is it so easy to look around us and constantly see other girls who are so pretty! If I only looked like that, I wouldn’t complain about my looks anymore! You know, those girls probably are thinking the exact same things, you just don’t realize that unless you hear them say it. Those girls most likely have the exact same problems as you do. Maybe she doesn’t feel as confident as she looks. Comparison robs you of joy. It’s true. But somehow we convince ourselves that that other girl must feel pretty darn good about herself because she’s so pretty and she doesn’t even have to try! Guess what? It’s probably an act anyway. 

 

Psalm 45:11 says, “Let the king be enthralled by your beauty; honor him, for he is your lord.”

 

You   enthrall     Our     King    with     YOUR      BEAUTY.

 

I love that verse. I love the word enthralled. Just the thought that God is enthralled with my beauty, gives me a sliver of hope. 

But I know I need to change. I think about myself far to much. How do I look? I’m constantly wondering what other people thing of me (my appearance as well as other stuff), and that isn’t good. That’s on the path to becoming insecure about everything. Nobody likes the girls that are so totally insecure all the time, and is constantly fishing for compliments. I will try to NOT be that girl. 

So, the bottom line is this: You are valuable, girls (and guys, but this post is mainly for girls lol)! So, stop believing those lies that you keep telling yourself! Go be confident in who you are and who God made you to be. Because the King is enthralled by your beauty!! 

 

This is a picture of my beautiful best friend that I took last summer 🙂 

 

Image

Leave a Reply

