It’s a Story of Grace

“Everything we have gone through, everything we are going through, and everything we will go through is part of our story of Grace and Redemption through Jesus Christ and it all has a purpose.”

A couple days ago Jason Malone spoke in chapel and he said the above quote. I love it! It reminds me that everything that happens to me happens for a reason. I can so easily lose sight of that. That means that even the tiniest things God cares about and He has a purpose for those things (as well as the bigger things). But even so far as who I have classes with next semester. It didn’t work out exactly like we had hoped…a couple of my friends and I were going to try to get into several of the same classes and it really didn’t work out that well, but God knows that too, right? And maybe He planned it that way? Maybe that’s His way of telling me to make new friends in the different classes. And His purposes even include who I come in contact with every day. That just amazes me.

God knows who my friends are and who my friends should be (and as far as I know, that’s the same people! Haha).

But anyway…going back to the quote…I love how he mentioned God’s purpose. I love when chapel speakers or Pastors or whoever talk about God’s purpose & His Will :]

Have you ever wanted to talk to God in person? I have. I was thinking the other day how cool it would be if I could meet with Jesus for coffee or something and just spend hours talking to Him about everything. Tell Him everything that has been going on in my life while He just sits there and nods His head and really listening to me (and, of course, He knows all of this anyway, but He still listens) and then when I am done, He gives me all sorts of advice. And then, I would ask Him a bunch of questions! Questions about myself and others and why things are the way things are and He would answer them. And then we would just talk some more about nothing in particular, but how awesome would that be? I wish that could happen because then I could actually get some of my questions answered. Like the big one that has been on my mind a LOT lately: What the heck am I supposed to do with my life?

All that to say…I love it when Pastors or whoever preaches on God’s Will and His purpose. They always tell us that God has a special purpose for ‘each and every one of you’. And I KNOW that’s true…but something deep down always says: “The guy talking doesn’t actually know me. He’s not speaking directly to me. He doesn’t know my abilities and talents (or lack thereof) and He doesn’t know my story. Maybe he’s not really speaking to me. Does God REALLY have a special, unique plan for me?”

I truly believe that God has an amazing story of Grace (and just of life) and that He has an amazing plan for each of my friends…but I find it MUCH harder to believe that for myself. Why is that? I get so excited for all of my friends and for my siblings when they talk about their passions and when they talk about what they might want to do in the future. But I don’t like to talk about myself. I honestly don’t even know what my passions are right now. I might have a vague idea, but I’m tired of talking in circles about what I like and don’t like and I have no idea what I see myself doing in four or five years or beyond. I honestly can’t think that far ahead. I’ve tried figuring this thing out and it just leaves me exhausted and more confused than ever!

I know…I need to leave it up to God, right? It seems to me that whenever I try to do something on my own, it never works out…but when it’s God, it always works out. Has anyone else noticed that? And I know that I’m supposed to wait on God and wait on His timing…but I can’t just sit back and wait for Him to move, either. I have to put in the effort of seeking Him and His will and I have to work at trying to find His Will, I think. I can’t just sit back and say, “Okay God, I know you have something for me. I’m just going to wait for You and not do anything until You show me what to do.” I don’t think that’s the right approach.

Neither can I be all action and not allow God to move in my life and show me where to go, either. I have to wait for Him as well. It’s a very fine line.

But, I HAVE to believe that:

“Everything we have gone through, everything we are going through, and everything we will go through is part of our story of Grace and Redemption through Jesus Christ and it all has a purpose.”

Leave a Reply

