Lessons Learned

It really is a beautiful thing when we can look back over a part of our life and smile. Even if it was tough. Even if it was hard. Even if it wasn’t fun. But looking back, it’s easy to see how God brought you through it and why He brought you through it…and you finally realize what God was trying to teach you through that circumstance. In the moment, you never would have chosen to go through that trial or situation…but now you can look back and smile and thank God for bringing you through it and for teaching you lessons that you can then carry on into the next difficult situation that you find yourself in. 

Yesterday I was talking to one of my best friends about some things that I have been going through…and she helped me realize that I can’t let fear control my life. A couple years ago, I never really thought that I was afraid of very many things. Compared to a lot of people, I am fairly laid back, so I didn’t think that I had much of a problem with it. Well, it seems like I do. Because of a certain situation, I am afraid of love. I am afraid of heartbreak. And I am afraid of trying it all again for the fear of it ending up the same way. But fear cannot control my life. If I let it, I could be so afraid that my life would no longer be fun. Sometimes in life you have to take risks. Some are worth it; and some are not.

Fear is mentioned 365 times in the Bible. Guess what? That means that there is a verse about fear for every. single. day. of. the. year. Do you think God knew that we would have fear? I think He did.

For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control. -2 Timothy 1:7

Even though I know that I will be afraid in the future, I have to take some risks in life. What kind of life would it be if I constantly played everything safe? Sounds pretty boring to me 🙂 Courage isn’t when you feel no fear. You have courage…true courage…when you move past your fears. 

There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts our fear. For fear as to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love. -1 John 4:18

There are other lessons that I have learned this year, too. Before attending college, I had no idea how much I would change. I feel like I have changed so much just in one semester…four short months. I can’t even imagine how much I will change in four years! It’s exciting, to say the least. I know that God has a plan through this and right now He is teaching me to wait on His timing…trust me, it’s not the easiest thing to do!

Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord! -Psalm 27:14

My life was running so smoothly for the longest time…I have an amazing group of friends and I’ve had some really fun times. Then things got more complicated. But this is the conclusion that I have come too…either it’s meant to be for some reason, or God’s going to teach me something through this. Granted, He will probably teach me something either way, but just saying. I’m waiting for His timing this time. Because everyone knows how much I would screw things up on my own!

Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him -Psalm 37:7a

So, as I look back over previous mistakes and trials, I can honestly say that I am glad that I went through it. No, I would not have chosen that path if I had had a choice. But I learned a lot more going through it than I would have if I had not gone through it. That said, I have to be careful to not build up walls or let fear control what I do. 

I waited patiently for the Lord; he inclined to me and heard my cry. He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. -Psalm 40: 1, 3a

God has been putting that new song in my mouth…a song of praise to my awesome God :]

Leave a Reply

