{Finding Worth & Beauty}

In high school, she tried so hard to fit in. Sure, she didn’t really go to any drastic measures, and she often pretended that she didn’t care…but she knew that she wasn’t exactly popular (though she wasn’t an outcast or anything like that, either!) Everyone told her that she was too quiet. They wanted her to be someone she was not. She tried to fit into the mold for a while. But she soon found that it was exhausting and totally not worth it. It didn’t work, either. So that didn’t last for long, so she had to learn to settle for who she really was, even if people didn’t like her for who she was.

She went to college, and her outlook on life, in many ways, changed. She has now started to see herself a little differently and she has begun the long journey in discovering just who she is and where to find her identity. She knows the ‘right‘ answer… she has grown up in church and she knows that she is supposed to find her identity in Christ. She knows that but she also knows that that truth hasn’t become real in her life, yet. She doesn’t quite believe it for herself yet, though she seems to be heading in that direction. 

That girl has had to learn to embrace who she really is. That girl is me.

I know that I have been blogging a lot about Singleness lately, because that is the season that I am in and that is what I am going through right now…and I think this post connects with the previous ones (even though I didn’t get the idea from this from ‘Sacred Singleness’). As I said above, I have had to embrace who God made me to be, and my guess is is that I’m not alone in this. I think it is most important for a girl to be completely confident and comfortable in who she is before she dates someone. Maybe that is yet another reason why I am Single. I know that I’m not there yet, but that is what I am striving for! 

Girls/women, embrace who you are in CHRIST! The world does not define you. A boyfriend/husband does not define you. Your gifts and talents and passions and dreams do not define you. Your friends don’t define you. Your earthly possessions do not define you. Christ is the only one who should define you, Ladies! He knows you better than you know yourself. He made you-personally! He hand-picked every feature and personality quirk that you can’t stand. Maybe He sees those little things that you wish you could change as beautiful and unique to only You! You are beautiful, my friends! Believe it. You are unique, and that is a good thing!!! Don’t try to be just like everyone else, because that is not what God intended when he made us. If it was, He wouldn’t go to so much trouble to make us all so different! Don’t lower yourself and stoop down to who the world wants you to be, because who God wants you to be is so much better! (: 

I do want to point out, friends, that time is of the essence. There is no time to waste, so don’t complicate your lives unnecessarily. Keep it simple—in marriage, grief, joy, whatever. Even in ordinary things—your daily routines of shopping, and so on. Deal as sparingly as possible with the things the world thrusts on you. This world as you see it is on its way out. -1 Corinthians 7:29-31 (MSG)

By the way, if you’re struggling with Singleness, read the rest of 1 Corinthians 7 (I love what the Message version says)! 😀

Image

Leave a Reply

