{A broken heart & a calling}

I have still not finished ‘Sacred Singleness’ yet. I only have about a chapter left (actually a little less), and I’m not sure what was stopping me from reading it, except for the fact that I don’t want to finish it! Haha. But I guess if I finish it, then I can go find another good book to read! But anyway, I finally picked it up and read a little bit tonight, though I didn’t get far. This last chapter is a lot about how to practically help Orphans. I broke down as I read about the Orphans. I literally sat there and cried. She was talking about how children were being sold into sex slavery at extremely young ages-some at only 5-years-old. FIVE! That’s when I started to lose it, but it just continued.

She then told a story of a girl who had been forced into sex slavery when she was 13, and she was required to sleep with 15 men a day, and she was beaten or shocked with electricity whenever she tried to refuse.

Several days ago (I don’t remember when, exactly) I remember asking God to break my heart for what breaks His. Well, it turns out that’s a dangerous thing to do. Because He just did. I think James 1:27 is pretty clear:

      Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit

orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.

Orphans breaks His heart. They have no one to love them or care for them. In America we are so sheltered to the harsh reality of what is going on in the rest of the world. But even here, there are Orphans. We call them Foster children, or something like that. But they are Orphans. In ‘sacred Singleness’, she told of a woman who asked God how she could use her photography skills to minister to orphans in some way. Obviously, that drew me in very quickly. That’s something I think I would love to do!

…you have been the helper of the fatherless. -Psalm 10:14

Father of the fatherless and protector of widows is God in his holy habitation. -Psalm 68:5

Give justice to the weak and the fatherless; maintain the right of the afflicted and the destitute. -Psalm 82:3

I’d say that God cares about Orphans. I firmly believe that this breaks His heart. No one should be forced into anything like that, yet men are forcing young girls into slavery. I’m not sure what to do about all of this right now, but I promise you that I will be praying about what I can do about it. I am praying that God will show me where I am supposed to go and when. I don’t know at all what it will look like, but maybe this is at least part of the calling that I was talking about earlier…the calling that I didn’t know what too. Maybe this is what He has called me to do, or a part of it anyway.

And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall Isend, and who will go for us?” Then I said, “Here amSend me.” -Isaiah 6:8

I don’t know where He will lead. But I am willing. He has broken my heart for what breaks His. Now I say: “Here I am, Lord! Send me!”

Leave a Reply

