All the Single Ladies {All the Single Ladies}

Hello lovelies (:

I hope your day has gone well ūüôā It has been several days since I’ve blogged, so I thought that I would write real quickly…even though it is 11:30 PM and I didn’t get much sleep last night and then I had a sort of stressful day (because I got lost a few times in downtown Dayton…haha! So not on my bucket list, but I found my way there & back again, so I guess that’s what matters!) and then I had to work and got stuck on drive-through for probably…an hour 1/2 non-stop…idk, something like that. So, to sum it up, I’m kinda tired.

Anyway, I will try my best to not ramble too much so that I waste your time or so that you won’t even want to read this. So, here goes:

To all my Single Ladies:

**YOU ARE GORGEOUS AND SO WORTH WAITING FOR** Oh, do you need proof of that? Psalm 45:11 says that “the king greatly desires your beauty”. In the message version, it says “The King is¬†wild¬†for you.” I don’t know about you, but I think that is just absolutely amazing! God thinks and says that you are¬†beautiful! I know, this can be for any woman, but I’m directing it towards my single ladies tonight because (I am single, so it’s easier to speak to them, I think) but also because I think that it is SO easy to start believing the lie that you are ugly and not worth anything if you do not have a boyfriend/have never had a boyfriend. This culture beats into us the idea that you are¬†weird¬†if you have never dated by the time you reach college. Actually, the age is becoming younger and younger…if you have never dated before you reach¬†high school, some people might wonder what is wrong with you. But let me share with you a secret. This is my personal opinion, of course, but here it is:

If you are single or haven’t dated many times throughout high school and even into the first years of college, I commend you!

The more times you date, I believe that you give pieces of your heart away. Been there done that. Don’t want to be there again. Honestly, I’m not sure why people put themselves through break up after break up again and again. I don’t know if my heart could handle that! ¬†Every time you break up with someone (or they break up with you) and then, especially if done not long after that breakup, I think that you bring emotional baggage into the next relationship. I firmly believe that everyone is different in how long they take to get over someone. Anywayyy, I kind of rambled on for a little bit longer than I wanted too…haha.¬†

To the unmarried and the widows I say that it is good for them to remain single as I am. -1 Corinthians 7:8

Paul actually recommends that people stay single, as he was. Now, I’m not saying that everyone should be single. I still have dreams of meeting a great guy and getting married someday, but Paul was complete and content and¬†fulfilled in his calling from God, even though he was called to be Single! That brings me to my next point. Please don’t miss this, ladies!

***Please don’t sit around at home wasting hours dreaming of when your life will start when you meet a guy!! Your life can start NOW!!***

I have fallen into this trap, as I’m sure many of you have as well, if you are completely honest with yourself. We settle into what we hope are ‘temporary’ situations…for you, it may be a ‘temporary’ apartment because you didn’t meet ‘the One’ in your college years. You may talk yourself into ‘one day’ being a part of a missions trip and doing great things for God, with a man at your side. (That is obviously not a bad thing to want, but I don’t think that it is God’s BEST). I believe that God has a¬†best¬†for every single person. So many times, though, we settle for what we think we are capable of…but in reality, I think that we can do so much more!! Do we ever actually reach our full potential? So anyway, I’m tired so I’m going to bed soon, so I’ll cut this a little shorter than I normally would (I will probably have more to say on this stuff later…)

So, my encouragement for my single ladies today would be this:

Live for today. That doesn’t mean to never look towards and forward to the future. I think we should look at the past, present, AND future. The past, to not dwell on our mistakes, but to learn from them and learn how to move on…the present to understand what God is calling for us to do TODAY (not get stuck on the ‘someday I will…’ thinking) and the future to work towards the bigger picture of what God may be calling us to do. If you are still reading this, my guess is, is that you’re single. Guess what? God has called you to be single for today. That doesn’t mean that this season will last forever, but it is a season, whether prolonged or shorter than expected, I think it can still be a beautiful thing if we learn to change our attitude about it. And think about it this way: You have more free time than you ever will again, if you are to get married & have kids, etc.¬†

Anyway, I’m off to bed, so goodnight my beautiful ladies! I hope you all sleep well and feel God’s peace ‚̧ He’s there for You, as am I!¬†

Leave a Reply

