Just Like Eve

Wow…I have never thought of it this way before. I was reading “Lady in Waiting” by Jackie Kendall & Debby Jones, and this sentence really caught my attention:

“Ever since the Garden of Eden, women have often felt like they could and should know as much as God.”

Now, I don’t know if I’m just a super horrible person, but every time I either read it for myself, or hear the ‘story’ of Adam & Eve, I always think something to the effect of “Wow, how could she do that? Didn’t she know the consequences that would surely follow? If that was me I would never have done that!” Oh, really? I often forget that I know the rest of the story. She didn’t know what would happen. She lost her faith and decided to take her actions into her own hands. It costed her a lot. But doesn’t that sound a lot like what we do all the time? We don’t trust that God’s plan really is a TON better than ours. We try to manipulate situations so that we are sure to run into that certain guy that we have had our eyes on for a while. I’ve done it and I’m sure you have as well. In a sense, then, we have all been ‘Eve’…we think that we know as much as God when we try to manipulate situations so that we can meet ‘our Prince’. Oh, I wish I had the faith to stop doing that and just totally and completely release it all to God, who is, most likely writing my love story in a beautiful way that I cannot even imagine. But, if He’s not, then I know that He has something so much better for me! We can always start now, right? Start practicing releasing everything to Him and letting everything go!! Believe me, I know that letting go is not easy. It takes time. At least for me, it takes many times of failure before I even catch a glimpse of success.

But, if God is for me, who can be against me?!

Leave a Reply

