What’s Your Name?

It’s funny how a little different perspective can make such a huge difference on how you see yourself. How do you see yourself, precious child of God? Can you see clearly, or do you feel like you don’t even know who you are anymore? Isn’t it funny how everything actually gets more complicated and confusing as you get older? I mean, maybe that changes someday…maybe after college and as I get older, I will actually know what’s going on…but right now, honestly it feels like most of the time this world is swirling around me and everything is so crazy confusing and complicated and busy and I don’t even know what’s going on or who I am! I know, that sounds crazy but I can’t be the only one…right?? haha. 

Do me a favor. Look in the mirror. “What?” You’re probably asking. Just do it (: You don’t have to physically look in the mirror if you don’t want too, but maybe that’s not such a bad idea. When you look in the mirror, either physically or metaphorically, what do you see? What are the labels that you have placed on yourself? What is your name. My fellow Cedarville people will know a little bit what I’m talking about because some of this was mentioned in chapel recently. I don’t just mean what everyone calls you, when I ask you what your name is. Who are youWho have you made yourself to beHow do you see yourself

Do you label yourself with…

Fear

Failure

Past-Relationships-Gone-Bad

Whatever hobby/what you’re good at…

Popularity

Sins that you continually struggle with…

What immediately pops into your head? I’ve struggled with some of the above ones and others that I didn’t mention. And I’m sure you have too. Are you always worry about what others think of you? I knew that that was part of my life before Sophomore year in college (this year), but it was never really a big deal…until Sophomore year happened. Then God was like BAM! “Emily, we’re going to deal with this right now!” That’s what He’s been saying to me a lot lately! haha (: There’s so much more that I could say but it’s almost midnight and I have an 8:30am class tomorrow, and I should go to bed! haha (: 

Share your thoughts (:

Leave a Reply

