{Coffee For Your Heart} You’re not alone

A time is coming and in fact has come when you will be scattered, each to your own home. You will leave me all alone. Yet I am not alone, for my Father is with me. ‘I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.’ -John 16:32-33

Hello, my sweet friends. I’m popping over here from Holley’s Coffee For Your Heart blog. This post is about “you’re not alone”

Jesus knew what it was like to feel…and to actually be…alone! So when you doubt that He understands you, think again! 

In Holley’s post, she stated a couple of lies (here they are):

Everyone has more friends than me

Maybe I don’t really belong here

If anyone REALLY knew me, I wouldn’t be loved the same

I have done my fair share believing those lies. They have showed up again and again in my life…especially recently. I struggled with feeling like I don’t belong in certain situations and worrying that everyone else thinks that I don’t belong there either. I have struggled with the last lie that she mentioned…I feel like I have built up walls around my heart to keep myself safe. Safe, maybe, but stifled. Bored. Not living the adventures that I’m sure God has for me if I would just learn to let go and follow Him. I’m afraid to show my true self to people…even the people that I have known for quite a while. Enough about me.

What about you, Dear One? How long have you struggled with feeling alone…even in the middle of a crowd? How long have you been too scared to truly share your heart with someone? Let me let you in on a little secret: If you have true friends, nothing that you tell them will pull you apart. Let me be honest with you for a second. People have a lot of crap in their lives. Sin that repeatedly shows up. Insecurities that no matter how hard they try, won’t go away. Personality differences in their relationships with friends, family, etc. that causes strain. If you have a special friend that you can talk too about anything, talk to her about anything and everything

God said that it was not good for man to be alone…from the very beginning God saw the need for humans to have relationships with other humans. It’s a good thing, but if we constantly close ourselves off to everyone, we are completely missing the pleasure of connecting with someone on a deeper, more personal level! 

I think a lot of feeling alone is built upon our insecurities. We are constantly worrying about what other people are thinking about us. We don’t think we measure up to the others in the group. We don’t feel pretty enough. Good enough. Perfect enough. We just don’t measure up…or do we?

Alright, Ladies…it’s past time that you start believing the truth about yourself instead of all of the lies that you have been believing (me, too, sister!) 

You have so much to give so stop believing that you don’t! If you have not already figured out the passions that God has given you, go find them! Get good at them. Love what you do. Do it with confidence. You have every right to be where God has placed you. Remember:

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent” -Eleanor Roosevelt

You belong here because, most likely, this is where God has placed you for the moment! This might not be the best place for you for forever, but if you are following after God’s heart, then you are where He wants you to be. Which means…YOU BELONG!

One more thing…we can’t wait until we’re perfect to start relating with people and connecting with people. Love means taking risks. Love means putting yourself out there. Sometimes it means you’ll get hurt. But, my friend, it’s worth it

4 thoughts on “{Coffee For Your Heart} You’re not alone”

  1. Beautiful post, thanks for sharing 🙂 It reminds me of a quote by Britt Merrick, “Jesus said, ‘As the Father has sent Me, I also send you.’
    Don’t hear ‘I also send you’ as Jesus saying you need to go somewhere else. Hear it as Jesus telling you that you have already been sent to where you are right now.” I hope you like these words, too 🙂
    Have a lovely day! xo, Rachel

    1. Hi Rachel! Thank you so much for reading my post and taking the time to comment (: I love what you wrote that Jesus has sent us exactly where we are right now. Thank you so much for the reminder! God bless ❤

  2. visiting via Coffee For Your Heart. What a beautiful encouragement to leave the lies at God’s feet and step into the welcoming light of His truth. Thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

