The Now.

How often do we wish this time away? How often do we convince ourselves that as soon as we achieve our next goal, attain what we’ve always wanted, or started that relationship that we’ve wanted for so long…THEN we’ll be happy.

But the thing is, we never are.

We’re constantly looking forward to the next season of life that looks so much easier and simpler from where we’re standing. Looking forward to our dreams and where we want to be is not a bad thing, but it becomes a bad thing when that’s all that we think about. We forget to enjoy today when we’re so focused on tomorrow.

When I look through pictures, it’s bittersweet. Many pictures remind me of fun, happy times. But some of them remind me of a time that hurts. Some pictures remind me of people who are no longer in my life. But here’s the thing:

There’s a part of me that can smile when I think back on those times…

I am reminded what I’ve gone through since that picture was taken. I can remember what I was like then, and what I am like now. God has done so much since then. I still don’t understand His plan. I have no idea what He’s doing right now or why things have played out the way that they have. But I guess it’s a good thing that I don’t have to understand what He’s doing :p

That’s a good reminder for me now. Today. To enjoy THE NOW. Because maybe I will look back on this time and actually miss what I had during this season of life. It doesn’t seem like that would happen now…but looking back is always different.

Enjoy today. Enjoy the relationships you have today. Learn from your failures and enjoy your successes. God’s got this ❤

Leave a Reply

