{Love Letters} Love

All these years, you have wanted love. But it seemed like every time you thought you might have found it, it ran away, leaving you confused and hurt. Is love even real? You asked timidly with insecurity lining your trembling voice. You tested those who thought might be capable of giving you love. Because you wanted someone to stay. Even after they saw you for you really are. Crazy. Messy. Imperfect. No makeup. Hair’s a mess. The list continues… You were afraid of “scaring them off”, but you tested them anyway. Eventually you just expected to scare them all off the moment they started to get close to you. You lost hope that anyone would ever stay. You were at a constant battle within yourself. You still wanted to get close to someone…but you knew they would leave.

Won’t you learn to dance with me, instead? I promise you that I will show you true love. I know what love really is. I will forever be your place of strength. I will never move away from you. When you are confused, come to me about it. I am your rock (Psalm 18:2). Let me teach you what love is.

Love is Patient.

Love is Kind.

It does not Envy,

It does not boast,

It is not proud.

It is not rude,

It is not self-seeking,

it is not easily angered,

It keeps no record of wrongs.

Love does not delight in evil

but rejoices with the truth.

It always protects,

always trusts,

always hopes,

always perseveres.

Love never fails.  (1 Corinthians 13:4-8)

You have always wanted someone to love you fully. Someone to love you for who you really are. Someone to love you while you are in process. Someone to love you when you are unlovely. Someone to love you on your worst days…when you’re sick, grumpy, ugly, etc. You have been looking in all of the wrong places. I have love for you on earth, but you must learn to accept my love for you first. Trust me, it is far more fulfilling then anything on earth will ever be. I promise you, you won’t be disappointed. Rest in the fact that I love you…with a perfect, unfailing, steadfast love that will never end. I will never get tired of you. I will never simply move on from you. I will never stop loving you because you disappointed me. Because I am love. I know what love is. I created it. I love you! Don’t you think that qualifies me to write your beautiful love story, when the time is right?

Your heart has come such a long way, Beautiful Girl. It has certainly been a long journey for you. And I am so proud of you. I am proud that you never gave up. Sure, there were times when you gave up hope…but you didn’t stop searching, didn’t lie down to rest. You allowed me to speak to you through other people and you allowed me to pick your tired heart back up again. You are learning to accept my love for you. You are learning to love yourself. In time, Dear One, you will learn to fully accept the love of others and love them in return. In the meantime, keep loving people to the best of your ability. It will come easier it time. I promise. Keep loving me. Keep talking to me and to others. I will make your path clear to you. Trust my plan for you. It is so good. Remember, My Love Never Fails.

Leave a Reply

