#WednesdayWorkoutBlog |YourMind|

Today’s Topic: Your Mind

yourmind

I’ve heard another quote that goes something like this: Your body can do anything, it’s your mind that you have to convince.

For those of you who have been running for a while, probably know that this is so true. Your body really is capable of so much more than you think. I ran 5 MILES the other day. Maybe that’s your warm up. Maybe that distance seems like way too hard for you. Wherever you are on that scale, I know that you have a goal in mind that in some of your moods seems reachable, but some days it seems totally unreachable and crazy. For me, 5 miles is a big deal. I’m working on going past that someday soon. But for me, the girl who always hated running. Who always talked herself out of running if it was below 60 and above 75 or something like that. Who NEVER ran when conditions were less than perfect, like rain, and DEFINITELY not snow! I have run when it was in the 30s. I reached 5 miles. I have made progress. There have definitely been some bad days, especially recently, but I have made a lot of progress, too. The other day I was bummed at myself because I only ran 2.5 miles, which was really bad for me. But then I remembered that several months ago, 2.5 miles was a lot. Somewhere along the struggle, I actually got better. I can run farther. Faster. Not at my goal yet, but I’m headed in that direction.

Anyway, I say all of that to say that it is possible…even what you think is impossible…really is possible. Maybe not all at once. Not yet. But you are headed in the right direction and you will get there! I had doubts that day that I ran 5 miles. I started off strong and told myself that I just had to get past mile 3 (because that is the roughest mile for me…2 is kind of a struggle and 3 is the longest and hardest for me, then it gets easier), then I’ll feel like I can run anything. That was actually kind of true. After mile 3 it did seem easier. And I was determined to beat my previous longest distance, which was around 4.5 I think. When you doubt yourself, that’s when you’ll feel like stopping. Your mind will tell you to stop trying so hard. Your mind will tell you to give up before your body gives up. Doubts will come during your runs, especially if you’re striving to beat your personal records, whether that’s distance or time or whatever you set your mind to. But the real accomplishments come when you tell your mind to simply shut up. When you let your determination and will continue to carry you through until even you are looking at yourself wondering, “How in the world did I even do that?!”

One of the best feelings for me was getting home after running 5 miles. I looked back from where I’ve been on my running journey. All of the extremely difficult moments. Some “easy” runs. Where I’ve come from and how far that I have gotten. I felt so proud of myself that I did what I thought was impossible. You can feel that way too.

I think it’s about discipline. I’m not the best at this myself, so I feel kind of like a hypocrite writing this. Just know that I am writing this to myself, as much as to you. It all comes down to the reason why you’re running in the first place. If you don’t know the answer to that, you really should stop and think about it. Because if you aren’t telling yourself those reasons often, it is more than likely that you will quit.

Your body is capable of so much. It really is your mind that you need to convince.

You know what I love most about running (or, one think I really like, anyway)? Whenever I think about running and motivations, etc., I can’t help but think about how those same things relate to the rest of my life. Running has made me see that I am capable of so much more than I think I am! I dream a dream and eventually, I can reach it, with enough work, effort, persistence, and consistency. Doubts will come. I may be my only cheerleader. The drive has to come from me, and me alone. But I have the talent, the potential, the passion…and I can and will get there. There are setbacks. Tears. Frustration. But when I finally get to one goal, I look back and where I have been and how far I have come and I can feel SO proud of myself for everything that I have been through and everything that has tried to tear me down and tear me apart, and it has only succeeded in making me stronger than I was before. Then I look around, enjoy the view for a little while, then get right back up towards my next goal. It takes discipline. Skill. Toughness. Determination. Motivation. Drive. Because at times, it will seem like everything and maybe even everyone is against you…but you really can do the impossible, if you set your mind to it!

What is your next goal for your running journey?

What is your next goal for your life?

What are you going to do about it?

You’re capable. You have everything that you need to succeed. It just might take a little (or a lot) of time and effort. But keep going. You’ll get there! ❤

Leave a Reply

