#WednesdayWorkoutBlog |LoveYourself|

fall in love with you

I don’t know what you’re motivations for running are. I don’t know what makes you lace up your shoes every day (or every day that you refuse to listen to your mind tell you thousands or excuses). But I know what my motivations are. Maybe they’re similar. Maybe some of them are even the same.

Do you ever struggle with your identity? Maybe you struggle with hating yourself. Hating who you are. Hating what your body looks like. Struggling with feelings like “I’m fat”, “I’m ugly”, “I will never have the body that I want”.

Maybe, though, we should learn to love ourselves first.

I think that it would be much more freeing to run, when we start at a different place, mentally. Instead of forcing yourself to go on a run (however long you choose) because you hate your body and you just want to see a change…maybe you can try starting from a position of loving yourself. Going on a run with a grateful attitude, telling yourself that you love your body and you love who you are at this moment, even though you’re not at your destination yet. Perhaps you will feel free and come from a place of “getting to” run, instead of “having to” go on this run.

Just a thought.

I know what it’s like to struggle with self-worth and lack of confidence in yourself, and I don’t really feel like I have any words of wisdom to speak towards that right now. I’m not through it. I’m not on the other side looking back and telling you that you’ll get over it…like it’ll go away. Maybe it will, maybe it won’t. And I don’t think we’re ever truly going to reach our destination until we reach Heaven, so I guess we gotta learn to be happy with what we have and who we are right now, right?

Anyway, let this encourage your heart today. You are allowed to love yourself. In fact, I think it is one of the greatest callings of a Christian. God said that the greatest commandment is to love God, then to love others. Well, I think that if you can’t love yourself, you sure as heck aren’t going to be able to love others fully. Maybe that’s just me. But I think it’s okay to look in the mirror and think “I look hot today!” or smile at your reflection and then leave your house with confidence in how you look. Then I think that you are better equipped to love other people.

So, go on that run. Think about your top motivations for running/working out. And I hope at least one of those reasons is because you love yourself! ❤

What do you need to forgive yourself for?

What is holding you back from loving yourself?

How can you start loving yourself (and then others) starting today?

Leave a Reply

