#MessyMonday |Healthy&Happy| //BeGood//

be good

This summer, I’ve had a lot of time to think…a lot of time to work through some stuff. I’ve been thinking a lot about health, lately, and what it really means to live a healthy and happy lifestyle.

If you had asked me before this summer what a ‘healthy’ lifestyle is, I probably would have shrugged and mumbled something about eating better and working out (both things I need to work on).

That is still true. Living a healthy lifestyle starts with healthy physical choices, like choosing to eat better and more nutritious foods, as well as working out in order to be in the best physical shape that YOU can be in, for God’s glory.

But recently, I have realized that it is soooo much more than that!

Living a healthy lifestyle has so much to do with your thoughts. About yourself. About God. About your life. Being truly healthy means, not only paying attention to your physical health, but also your mental and emotional health. It means stopping destructive thoughts about yourself. It means completely changing your lifestyle and your thought processes, if what you are thinking about is destroying yourself from the inside out.

Be good to others. Love others. Yes, do that! But don’t forget to love yourself as well! That goes against everything our culture says, I know. And it is hard. But it is so, so worth it.

Live healthy. Live happy. Live on purpose.

[That is the EXTREMELY short version of my thoughts on this topic…if you want to talk more about it with me in person, or you would like me to write more about it, let me know…if you get me talking on this topic, I can probably talk for a long time!]

Leave a Reply

