It Is He

It is He

If you saw my Instagram post at the beginning of the year, you know that my word for this year is Be. In case you didn’t get the chance to read through my reasons for that (which you can still definitely do, and that would be awesome!), here’s a recap:

Be.

This word reminds me to just be who I am. No strings attached. No ulterior motives. With NO FEAR of what others think of me, or what their expectations are.

This word reminds me that I matter. Just as I am. I don’t have to do anything to earn God’s love; yet I have it. I don’t have to do anything to earn other people’s love. The people that matter most to me love me as I am, no matter what I look like, or what state I’m in at the time. I don’t have to prove my worth to anyone.

I just have to be. Live. Make mistakes & grow. Learn how to live the life I imagine, even among the mess. Through the fear. Through the pain. Through everything that I have to work through personally.

Perhaps most importantly, this word reminds me that I no longer have to fight my own battles, because Jesus will fight them for me. I don’t have to strive for perfection or to be the best at everything anymore.

This is me. This is the year for me to start afresh. This is the year to be vulnerable and openly say “Here I am, Lord. I’m a mess, but you love me anyway.” This is the year for me to get past everything that has been holding me back. I am not who I was. And I am going to start trying to believe that I am not where I need to be yet, but I SURE AS HECK am making progress and moving in the right direction. I will get there. Slowly, definitely. But I am getting there.

I bring this up again for 1) I need to constantly remind myself of these truths. I need to continually encourage myself and remind myself what my mindset is going to be for this year. I need to think positively about this year as a whole and think about all the amazing possibilities for me this year, personally, as well as in every other area of my life! Also, 2) I was reading Psalm 108 a couple days ago and I love the last verse. It says:

“With God we shall do valiantly; it is he who will tread down our foes.”

{Psalm 108: 13}

Throughout this chapter, David is talking about war and foes and enemies. But then he comes to the conclusion that… we’re good. I’m good. Because God is on our side. We will win, because we have someone else fighting our battles for us!

What battles have you been trying to win all on your own lately?

I know I could put a whole long list down here of the battles that I have been trying to fight on my own. Could you?

What I have noticed when I try to do that is this:

I am exhausted. Seriously, so tired.

I am defeated. Every Single Time.

Honestly, I’m kind of hopeless. “Will this ever get better?”

“Am I even making progress?”

“What am I doing wrong….?”

So many questions swirl around in my head with no answer.

As well as others.

I am tired of being exhausted. By the way, do you know how exhausting it is to be constantly fighting a battle inside your head? It’s freaking tiring, if you don’t know. And that leaves you with ZERO energy to do the things you love, like hang out with people, and give your best to your schoolwork, your work, your friends, your hobbies, church….anything! And come on, who likes to be defeated all the time, anyway?! It’s time to stop being pushed back down. It’s time we let someone else fight our battles for us.

Someone who loves us. More than we can ever KNOW. Someone who is stronger than whatever we’re dealing with and going through. Someone who will never get tired, and someone who will NEVER get defeated.

It is He

 

Leave a Reply

